close sketchbook

Some recent fun interviews

Posted 02.21.2024 at 12:00AM

In the last year, I've gotten some local attention for drawing funny pictures. Who says there's nothing good on TV?

Read More >

Me at the 2024 Rube Goldberg Machine Building Nationals - 04.05.2024

From: 12:00AM to 12:00AM

I'll be making appearances this year at the Rube Goldberg Machine Building Nationals, at Perdue University!

This is a fun one- Rube machine building clubs from schools and colleges around the country converge for the final round of judging to find the best of 2024!
This year's goal: build a machine that puts toothpaste on a toothbrush!

I've done a few of these, and they're really beyond description.  

For more information, click here...

Location:

Perdue University
West lafayette,




C2E2 Chicago Comic Con - 04.26.2024

From: 12:00AM to 12:00AM

I'm going to be setting up at C2E2, Artists Alley in April!

I'll be making my debut C2E2 in Chicago this year, April 26th-28th, McCormick Place!

I'll be signing stuff, selling books, doing drawings, and probably hawking other incentives I haven't thought up yet!

For tickets, head over to the C2E2 site by clicking here....

Location:

McCormick Place
Chicago,






STUFF TO BUY!!

 

I decided to go through my flat files and do some studio cleaning... and sell some stuff!  
Here's a smattering of some of my own art, along with a few choice nuggets from my personal collection...
 

ORIGINAL ART- click each thumbnail for a closer look.

Click here to jump to signed personalized books...


RUBE GOLDBERG MACHINE - NO MORE LOST EYEGLASSES
DRAWN BY MORT DRUCKER


11.25" x 15"

What can I say about this one.  This was a commissioned piece, based on an original Rube machine.  

$1200

 

 


 

Rube Goldberg's Simple Normal Humdrum School Day (2017)

2 page spread- A simple way to put toothpaste on a toothbrush!


11.5" x 29" 
Pen & ink and watercolor of heavy Strathmore board.
Purchase includes a signed & personalized copy of the book!
$500

 
 

Rube Goldberg's Simple Normal Definitely Different Day Off (2022)

2 page spread- A surefire way to wake up on time!



11" x 30"
Pen & ink, watercolor on heavy Strathmore board.
Purchase includes a signed & personalized copy of the book!
$850

 
 

Rube Goldberg and his Amazon Machines (2021)

Purchase includes a signed & personalized copy of the book the drawing is from.
1/2 page BW illustration- The villain is revealed!


7" x 10.5"
Pen & ink on Strathmore board. 
$200

 
 

1/4 page illustration- Professor Butts' introduction


5.25" x 8"
Pen & ink on Strathmore board
$200

 
 

1/2 page illustration- Rube and Butts face off


7.75" x 10.25"
Pen & ink on Strathmore board.
$300

 
 

1/2 page illustration spanning two pages
Boob McNutt rambles on...and on...

4
.25" x 19"
Pen & ink on Strathmore board.
$250

 
 

Full page illustration

A villain revealed!


10" x 14"
Pen & ink on Strathmore board.
$600

 
 

Henry comic strip - 1965

by John Liney


7
.375" x 23"
$500

 
 

Order my books!

October 2023: Rube Goldberg and his Amazing Machines III: Engines of Change
Written by Brandon T. Snider
Illustrated by me. Neat.
Abrams


Click to pre-order!


Overview:

Engine of Change isthe third title in the hilarious Rube Goldberg and His Amazing Machines series by bestselling author Brandon T. Snider and featuring black-and-white illustrations by award-winning artist Ed Steckley.

Evil Professor Zeero has disappeared, Superintendent Atwater has been put in his place, and all is right again in Beechwood . . . or is it?

When Rube Goldberg discovers the Null Corporation is building a giant machine in his beloved junkyard, he suspects something nefarious is at play. Then when he begins receiving anonymous messages from someone claiming to be an ally, he knows something is up. Together with his best friends Boob and Pearl, as well as friends like Reina, Lala, and Davin, Rube sets out to find out just what the company has planned for their town.

To throw a wrench in things, Rube’s dad has made an unexpected trip home, and Rube struggles to find the best way to share his new passion for problem-solving with the person he loves the most. Can Rube find all the answers he needs in time to save Beechwood?

Disguises, master plans, and, above all, Rube Goldberg Machines come together in this hilarious third title in the Rube Goldberg and His Amazing Machines series.

Written in Consultation with the Rube Goldberg Institute for Innovation & Creativity


October 2022: Rube Goldberg and his Amazing Machines II: The New Switcheroo
Written by Brandon T. Snider
Illustrated by, you guessed it, me
Abrams


Click to order from Barnes & Noble...

Overview:

The hilarious follow-up to Rube Goldberg and His Amazing Machines by bestselling author Brandon T. Snider and featuring illustrations by award-winning artist Ed Steckley

After unintentionally unmasking a criminal mastermind at his school’s Contraption Convention, Rube Goldberg—and his inventions—are the talk of the sixth grade. Rube’s star is on the rise, and it’s a lot of pressure. What if he’s lost his mojo? There’s no time to wonder, because Rube and his two best friends, Boob and Pearl, are busy planning Pearl’s campaign for class president. With the Switcheroo Dance a weekend before the big election, Pearl’s path to victory is set. That is, until a new mystery strikes the town. Rube is eager to bring Zach into the fold, but Boob and Pearl can’t help but wonder if Rube’s mysterious new friend is hiding something . . . will Rube get his mojo back in time to unravel the mystery and save Pearl’s campaign?

Hijinks and hilarity abound in this dynamic follow-up to Rube Goldberg and His Amazing Machines, written by bestselling author Brandon T. Snider and featuring black-and-white illustrations by Ed Steckley.

Limited time only, purchase a personalized copy!

Amazing Machines book II
Type your inscription here...
 

 



April 2022: Rube Goldberg's Simply Normal Definitely Different Day Off
Written by Jennifer George
Illustrated by... me.
Abrams Kids




Follow along with young inventor Rube Goldberg on his day off from school in this wacky, STEAM-focused picture book

A “definitely different” follow-up to Rube Goldberg’s Simple Normal Humdrum School Day, written by Jennifer George, the granddaughter of Rube Goldberg, and illustrated by award-winning artist Ed Steckley. They imagine Rube Goldberg as a young inventor who builds complex machines to solve simple, everyday problems. Follow along as he invents zany chain-reaction contraptions to have the best day off from school ever—including a simple way to play fetch in the yard without leaving your bedroom, a self-operating swing, and a super simple series of movie snacking machines.

(They're all all pen & ink on illustration board, with Windsor & Newton watercolors and Dr. Ph. Marten's dyes.  For the artsy-fartsy-curious-y types!)

Some interior samples:

Clicky to embiggen...



Click to make bigger-er...


Click to see all the small stuff...

 

Choose your personalization option:
Type your inscription here:

 


 

Rube Goldberg and His Amazing Machines
Written by Brandon T. Snider, available now!
Art by.... me.
Abrams Kids


 

The hilarious first book in an all-new illustrated middle-grade series starring young inventor Rube Goldberg

On the first day of middle school, Principal Kim announces that the school is going to throw a Contraption Convention—the perfect opportunity for young inventor Rube Goldberg to show off his inventions and get out of his summer-long funk.

But after a fight with his friends Pearl and Boob about where his priorities really lie, Rube’s Con Con entry gets off to a rocky start—and then strange incidents begin to throw the town into disarray. Boob is convinced it’s a ghost causing all of this chaos. Between Con Con, the ghostly mystery, and a new rival, Rube has his work cut out for him. But with the help of his friends, he might just get things back on track, get on top of his burgeoning anxieties, and come up with something brilliant before it’s time to face the judging table.

PRAISE

"Snider accurately conveys feelings of change and growth at a time when tweens are truly still children . . . Steckley’s black-and-white illustrations evoke the cluttered, mad-scientist feel of Rube’s workspace. . ."
-Kirkus Reviews

Available as is (boring), signed and inscribed by me with included author book plate (better), OR... get a personalized inscription, complete with a sketch and author book plate (the best!)

Amazing Machines book I
Type your inscription here...
 


Rube Goldberg's Simple Normal Humdrum School Day!  
Written by Jennifer George, and drawn by me, published by Abrams Kids.

 

To help little Rube get through his day, he builds ridiculous machines to perform otherwise ordinary tasks.  
From getting out of bed, getting dressed and making breakfast, to doing homework and going to bed, the entire day is depicted in the goofy world of Rube Goldberg.
Great for fans of STEM and STEAM, curious kids and thoughtful parents and teachers!

40 pages, including 15 2 page machine spreads.  

All books are signed and shipped to your door.  For an extra fee I'll do little sketch and personalize the book to whomever you choose!





Choose your personalization option:
Type your inscription here:

 

 

About Ed

Ed Steckley resides in Southeastern, WI, and is a Divisional Reuben Award winning illustrator, specializing in illustration for children books, magazines, and advertising.

Clients include Scholastic, Abrams Books, Mad Magazine, lots of smaller magazines, more ad agencies than he’d care to shake a stick at, and has and had artwork in art galleries and museums all over the country.

He is a member of the National Cartoonists Society, Society of Illustrators and the International Society of Caricature Artists. He got into all during coincidental severe standards lapses at these organizations. 

He enjoys talking in the third person.
 

 

Some recent fun interviews

Posted 02.21.2024 at 12:00AM

In the last year, I've gotten some local attention for drawing funny pictures. Who says there's nothing good on TV?

Read More



Just on the horizon- the follow up to my Rube Goldberg picture book!

Posted 03.09.2022 at 12:00AM

We wrapped this one in 2020... and dumb ol' Covid delayed it to this Spring!

Read More



Lots of good stuff to get, just in time for the holidays!

Posted 11.30.2021 at 12:00AM

It's been busy around here- A new book on the stands now and one to preorder for Spring 2022!

Read More



Art Studio Tour!

Posted 04.28.2020 at 12:00AM

I thought I'd take a walkthrough around my art studio and do some yabbering about it.

Read More