close sketchbook

Pre-order 2 new books, illustrated by... me

Posted 04.28.2021 at 12:00AM

It's been busy around here- I've got two books coming out, and you can now pre-order both!

Read More >


Stuff to buy!


Preorder my upcoming books!

Fall 2021: Rube Goldberg and His Amazing Machines
Written by Brandon T. Snider
Art by.... me.
Abrams Kids


Click to Pre-Order!

The hilarious first book in an all-new illustrated middle-grade series starring young inventor Rube Goldberg

On the first day of middle school, Principal Kim announces that the school is going to throw a Contraption Convention—the perfect opportunity for young inventor Rube Goldberg to show off his inventions and get out of his summer-long funk!

But after a fight with his friends Peal and Boob about where his priorities really lie, Rube’s Con Con entry gets off to a rocky start—and then strange incidents begin to throw the town into disarray. Boob is convinced it’s a ghost causing all of this chaos. Between Con Con, the ghostly mystery, and a new rival, Rube has his work cut out for him. But with the help of his friends, he might just get things back on track, get on top of his burgeoning anxieties, and come up with something brilliant before it’s time to face the judging table.



Spring of 2022 (thanks, COVID): Rube Goldberg's Simply Normal Definitely Different Day Off
Written by Jennifer George
Illustrated by... me.
Abrams Kids


Click to Pre-Order...


Follow along with young inventor Rube Goldberg on his day off from school in this wacky, STEAM-focused picture book

A “definitely different” follow-up to Rube Goldberg’s Simple Normal Humdrum School Day, written by Jennifer George, the granddaughter of Rube Goldberg, and illustrated by award-winning artist Ed Steckley. They imagine Rube Goldberg as a young inventor who builds complex machines to solve simple, everyday problems. Follow along as he invents zany chain-reaction contraptions to have the best day off from school ever—including a simple way to play fetch in the yard without leaving your bedroom, a self-operating swing, and a super simple series of movie snacking machines.


BACK IN STOCKRube Goldberg's Simple Normal Humdrum School Day!  
Written by Jennifer George, and drawn by me, published by Abrams Kids.

 

To help little Rube get through his day, he builds ridiculous machines to perform otherwise ordinary tasks.  
From getting out of bed, getting dressed and making breakfast, to doing homework and going to bed, the entire day is depicted in the goofy world of Rube Goldberg.
Great for fans of STEM and STEAM, curious kids and thoughtful parents and teachers!

40 pages, including 15 2 page machine spreads.  This book is the first in a series: book two will, um... *drop* in Spring 2021.

All books are signed and shipped to your door.  For an extra fee I'll do little sketch and personalize the book to whomever you choose!





Choose your personalization option:
Type your inscription here:

Original Art!


Original spread from Rube Goldberg's Simple Normal Humdrum School Day!
'A speedy way to get all your homework done at the same time'

Every machine and page in this book is hand inked painted on heavy Bristol board.  This is your opportunity to own your own!  This book is the first in series, so there's lots of Rube in the future, and the prices of these will no doubt be increasing in demand.

11.5" X 29"  Ink and watercolor on heavy Bristol board, signed
Ships within 2 days.
 

            $900

 

About Ed

Ed Steckley is a Divisional Reuben Award winning illustrator in New York City, specializing in illustration for children books, magazines, newspapers, product packaging and advertising.

Clients include Spinmaster Toys, Abrams Books, Mad Magazine, lots of smaller magazines, more ad agencies than he’d care to shake a stick at, and has and had artwork in art galleries and museums all over the country.

He is currently Vice President of the National Cartoonists Society, a member of the Society of Illustrators and the International Society of Caricature Artists. He got into all during coincidental severe standards lapses at these organizations. Ed’s also currently the President of the Manhatten chapter of the National Cartoonist Society.

He enjoys talking in the third person.
 

 

Pre-order 2 new books, illustrated by... me

Posted 04.28.2021 at 12:00AM

It's been busy around here- I've got two books coming out, and you can now pre-order both!

Read More



Art Studio Tour!

Posted 04.28.2020 at 12:00AM

I thought I'd take a walkthrough around my art studio and do some yabbering about it.

Read More



Live demo tonight on the Society of Illustrators Instagram

Posted 04.24.2020 at 12:00AM

Tonight at 7pm EST I'll be taking over the Society of Illustrators Instagram page for a talk and demo.

Read More



Live streamed drawing sessions on Instagram!

Posted 04.20.2020 at 12:00AM

Since we're all stuck inside, I've been doing some live drawing sessions on Instagram....

Read More