close sketchbook

Me on the Cake Boss show- Kinda

Posted 10.11.2019 at 12:00AM

Back in 2017, I was a guest on the Cake Boss show, speaking as a rep for Rube Goldberg.

Read More >

Rube Goldberg- World of Hilarious Invention - 01.18.2020

From: 12:00AM to 12:00AM

I've got a lot of original art in this traveling show, AND they built two of my machines from the book I illustrated, Rube Goldberg's Simple Normal Humdrum School Day.

There's some really cool documentation of the my work in the book, from sketches to final art.  Neat!  More info and lots more as it gets closer at the Indiana State Museum homepage!

Location:

Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, Midwest




Rube Goldberg's World of Hilarious Invention, Traveling Exhibit - 05.29.2021

From: 12:00AM to 12:00AM

The final stop in the long touring Rube Goldberg Exhibition, featuring tons of my art and the machines made of 2 of my machines from the book, Rube Goldberg's Simple Normal Humdrum School Day!

St Louis is my old stomping grounds, so I'm anxious for this leg of the tour.  If you haven't been to the Magic House in St Louis, you're missing out.

Location:

St. Louis, MO
St. Louis, Midwest






Stuff to buy!


Original Art!


Mad Magazine Issue 10!
Real Life Safe Rooms- Men's locker room

16"x6.5"  Ink on heavy Bristol board, signed
$300



Mad Magazine Issue 10!
Real Life Safe Rooms- The Uber

14.5"x7" Ink on heavy Bristol board, signed
$300



Mad Magazine Issue 9!
William Shakespeare: App Dater

11" X 17" Ink on heavy Bristol board, signed.

$500



Mad Magazine Issue 9!
William Shakespeare: App Dater, Tinder callout

5" X 8.25" Ink on heavy Bristol board, signed.
Ships within 2 days.

             $200

 



Mad Magazine Issue 9!
William Shakespeare: App Dater, Tinder callout

5" X 8." Ink on heavy Bristol board, signed.
Ships within 2 days.

             $200

 



Mad Magazine Issue 9!
William Shakespeare: App Dater, Tinder callout

4.25" X 7.75" Ink on heavy Bristol board, signed.
Ships within 2 days.
 

             $200

 



Original spread from Rube Goldberg's Simple Normal Humdrum School Day!
'A speedy way to get all your homework done at the same time'

Every machine and page in this book is hand inked painted on heavy Bristol board.  This is your opportunity to own your own!  This book is the first in series, so there's lots of Rube in the future, and the prices of these will no doubt be increasing in demand.

11.5" X 29"  Ink and watercolor on heavy Bristol board, signed
Ships within 2 days.
 

            $900

 



Book!

 
Rube Goldberg's Simple Normal Humdrum School Day!  Written by Rube's granddaughter Jennifer George, and drawn by me, published by Abrams Kids!

To help little Rube get through his day, he builds ridiculous machines to perform otherwise ordinary tasks.  
From getting out of bed, getting dressed and making breakfast, to doing homework and going to bed, the entire day is depicted in the goofy world of Rube Goldberg.
Great for fans of STEM and STEAM, curious kids and thoughtful parents and teachers!

40 pages, including 15 2 page machine spreads.  This book is the first in a series: book two will, um... *drop* in Spring 2021.

All books are signed and shipped to your door.  For an extra fee I'll do little sketch and personalize the book to whomever you choose!





Choose your personalization option:
Type your inscription here:

 

 

 

About Ed

Ed Steckley is a Divisional Reuben Award winning illustrator in New York City, specializing in illustration for children books, magazines, newspapers, product packaging and advertising.

Clients include Spinmaster Toys, Abrams Books, Mad Magazine, lots of smaller magazines, more ad agencies than he’d care to shake a stick at, and has and had artwork in art galleries and museums all over the country.

He is currently Vice President of the National Cartoonists Society, a member of the Society of Illustrators and the International Society of Caricature Artists. He got into all during coincidental severe standards lapses at these organizations. Ed’s also currently the President of the Manhatten chapter of the National Cartoonist Society.

He enjoys talking in the third person.
 

 

Me on the Cake Boss show- Kinda

Posted 10.11.2019 at 12:00AM

Back in 2017, I was a guest on the Cake Boss show, speaking as a rep for Rube Goldberg.

Read More



Coming in 2021- More Rube Goldberg books!

Posted 10.10.2019 at 12:00AM

Coming in 2021- the first of 4 new Rube Goldberg books, illustrated by.... me.

Read More



Marceline, MO Toonfest this weekend!

Posted 09.17.2019 at 12:00AM

I'll be a guest of honor this week at Marceline, MO Toonfest, hometown of Walt Disney.

Read More



My latest in Mad Magazine

Posted 09.10.2019 at 12:00AM

My latest in the current issue of Mad magazine...

Read More