close sketchbook

Marceline, MO Toonfest this weekend!

Posted 09.17.2019 at 12:00AM

I'll be a guest of honor this week at Marceline, MO Toonfest, hometown of Walt Disney.

Read More >

Walt Disney Toonfest 2019! - 09.20.2019

From: 12:00AM to 12:00AM

This year I'm going to be a headliner at the annual Walt Disney Toonfest in Marceline, MO!

Marceline is the hometown of Walt Disney, from ages 5-10, and the town celebrates his legacy every year with a huge festival centered around him.  I've never been, but for a small town, they really do it up.  Main Street in Marceline was the inspiration for the Main Street, USA at the Disney parks, and part of the weekend is a trip to a huge old tree in the back yard that's been named The Dreaming Tree.  It's here where he'd sit and while away hours letting his imagination run and doodle.  I'm really looking forward this this one- I'll be doing workshops, and chalk talk or two, and helping celebrate Walt's memory.  

I'll be doing a cartooning/illustration symposium for the public on Saturday, September 21 at the Walsworth Community Center, along with cartoonists Mark Anderson and Dick Duerrstein from 12:30-4pm.  And it's free!  Read more about it on my Blog by clicking here...

For more info, head to their homepage by clicking here...
 

 

Location:

Marceline, MO
Marceline, Midwest




Rube Goldberg- World of Hilarious Invention - 01.18.2020

From: 12:00AM to 12:00AM

I've got a lot of original art in this traveling show, AND they built two of my machines from the book I illustrated, Rube Goldberg's Simple Normal Humdrum School Day.

There's some really cool documentation of the my work in the book, from sketches to final art.  Neat!  More info and lots more as it gets closer at the Indiana State Museum homepage!

Location:

Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, Midwest






Stuff to buy!


Original Art!


Mad Magazine Issue 9!
William Shakespeare: App Dater

11" X 17" Ink on heavy Bristol board, signed.

$500



Mad Magazine Issue 9!
William Shakespeare: App Dater, Tinder callout

5" X 8.25" Ink on heavy Bristol board, signed.
Ships within 2 days.

             $200

 



Mad Magazine Issue 9!
William Shakespeare: App Dater, Tinder callout

5" X 8." Ink on heavy Bristol board, signed.
Ships within 2 days.

             $200

 



Mad Magazine Issue 9!
William Shakespeare: App Dater, Tinder callout

4.25" X 7.75" Ink on heavy Bristol board, signed.
Ships within 2 days.
 

             $200

 



Original spread from Rube Goldberg's Simple Normal Humdrum School Day!
'A speedy way to get all your homework done at the same time'

Every machine and page in this book is hand inked painted on heavy Bristol board.  This is your opportunity to own your own!  This book is the first in series, so there's lots of Rube in the future, and the prices of these will no doubt be increasing in demand.

11.5" X 29"  Ink and watercolor on heavy Bristol board, signed
Ships within 2 days.
 

            $900

 



Book!

 
Rube Goldberg's Simple Normal Humdrum School Day!  Written by Rube's granddaughter Jennifer George, and drawn by me, published by Abrams Kids!

To help little Rube get through his day, he builds ridiculous machines to perform otherwise ordinary tasks.  
From getting out of bed, getting dressed and making breakfast, to doing homework and going to bed, the entire day is depicted in the goofy world of Rube Goldberg.
Great for fans of STEM and STEAM, curious kids and thoughtful parents and teachers!

40 pages, including 15 2 page machine spreads.  This book is the first in a series: book two will, um... *drop* in Spring 2021.

All books are signed and shipped to your door.  For an extra fee I'll do little sketch and personalize the book to whomever you choose!





Choose your personalization option:
Type your inscription here:

 

 

About Ed

Ed Steckley is a Divisional Reuben Award winning illustrator in New York City, specializing in illustration for children books, magazines, newspapers, product packaging and advertising.

Clients include Spinmaster Toys, Abrams Books, Mad Magazine, lots of smaller magazines, more ad agencies than he’d care to shake a stick at, and has and had artwork in art galleries and museums all over the country.

He is currently Vice President of the National Cartoonists Society, a member of the Society of Illustrators and the International Society of Caricature Artists. He got into all during coincidental severe standards lapses at these organizations. Ed’s also currently the President of the Manhatten chapter of the National Cartoonist Society.

He enjoys talking in the third person.
 

 

Marceline, MO Toonfest this weekend!

Posted 09.17.2019 at 12:00AM

I'll be a guest of honor this week at Marceline, MO Toonfest, hometown of Walt Disney.

Read More



My latest in Mad Magazine

Posted 09.10.2019 at 12:00AM

My latest in the current issue of Mad magazine...

Read More



Fascinating new drawing tool from Wacom!

Posted 04.01.2019 at 12:00AM

I'm a big fan on Wacom products for drawing and painting, and now they've outdone themselves!

Read More



Local news spot on me and the NCS cartoonists visits with the USO

Posted 12.25.2018 at 01:00AM

Here's a local TV segment on some USO trips I've taken in the last 10 years with the National Cartoonists Society.

Read More